Sadly, the Romantic Times Conventions is Over

I need to do one more post for the Romantic Times Convention. I returned home safely on Sunday afternoon, tired, but happy with the week I spent in Dallas. Monday I was exhausted. Today is the first chance I’ve had to blog about the rest of the trip.

RT 2015 BullThere were more workshops, parties, networking, and meeting wonderful people. On the night of the western party, I sat on, but didn’t ride, the mechanical bull. Many did, including three women I met. One of them even rode it at high speed and stayed on longer than some of the “macho” men. Several of the men, including the buff models, thought getting on the bull was a joke and it would be easy. They learned differently, not making it past two seconds out of the thirty second time limit.

I met Tara Finney, a blogger, at a workshop and we kept bumping into each other. We spent time together one night over drinks. She was one of the women who rode the bull the full 30 minutes. I taped for her so her family would agree she really did it.

I met Tara Finney, a blogger, at a workshop and we kept bumping into each other. We spent time together one night over drinks. She was one of the women who rode the bull the full 30 minutes. I taped for her so her family would agree she really did it.

It seems I'm always wearing the same top for book signings. I really do have other clothes to wear.

It seems I’m always wearing the same top for book signings. I really do have other clothes to wear.

I participated in the RT Club Author event twice. For half an hour authors sit at table of usually two or three other authors and talk with readers. It’s a way to get yourself known.

IMG_9977I also sat in on Soul Mate Publishing’s Publisher Spotlight where editors, Char Chaffin and Cheryl Yeko talked about Soul Mate and what they were looking for. We also all had supper together one night.

Char Chaffin and Cheryl Yeko, editors at Soul Mate.

Char Chaffin and Cheryl Yeko, editors at Soul Mate.

View of part of the booksgining

View of part of the booksgining

On Saturday was the big booksigning, with over 600 authors in attendance. I didn’t participate this year, but on the advice and urging of many, I believe I may do it in Vegas next year. The public is invited and thousands attend. Even after getting nearly forty free books, I just HAD to buy from my friends. I also had pictures taken with them.

I met Renee Daniel Flagler at a workshop she and Lutishia Lovely ran about writing under two names. They were funny and informative. I bought their books at the booksigning.

I met Renee Daniel Flagler at a workshop she and Lutishia Lovely ran about writing under two names. They were funny and informative. I bought their books at the booksigning.

Lutishia introduced me to Zuri Day.

Lutishia introduced me to Zuri Day.

I met Deeanne Gist two years ago when my first book was released. Then we met again at the Barbara Vey Luncheon in April. Sweet lady.

I met Deeanne Gist two years ago when my first book was released. Then we met again at the Barbara Vey Luncheon in April. Sweet lady.

Jules Berghammer and I have been FB friends for a while. We finally met at RT, only to find out we live two hours from each other!

Jules Berghammer and I have been FB friends for a while. We finally met at RT, only to find out we live two hours from each other!

Tina DeSalvo and I met at the Barbara Vey Luncheon in April. We decided the Tina's needed to unite.

Tina DeSalvo and I met at the Barbara Vey Luncheon in April. We decided the Tina’s needed to unite.

Naleighna Kai, who I see each year, introduced me to J.D. Mason. It's always fun to meet new authors.

Naleighna Kai, who I see each year, introduced me to J.D. Mason. It’s always fun to meet new authors.

Each morning, I attended exercise classes. This was our instructor. I simply can't remember her name. I won two books from her,  but since my books are still in route from Dallas,  I can't find her name on them.

Each morning, I attended exercise classes. This was our instructor. I simply can’t remember her name. I won two books from her, but since my books are still in route from Dallas, I can’t find her name on them.

One of my exercise partners, Elle James. Please don't confuse her with that other author with a similar name.

One of my exercise partners, Elle James. Please don’t confuse her with that other author with a similar name.

RT 2015 park 6After the booksigning, Beth and I walked around downtown. We went back to the park we’d found on Tuesday. Only this time, we had our cameras. It was hot, humid, and very windy.

Each year, Heather Graham, hosts a huge party. This year the theme was western. (Of course.) She, with her friends, put on a play. Always funny.

Each year, Heather Graham, hosts a huge party. This year the theme was western. (Of course.) She, with her friends, put on a play. Always funny.

Beth and I decided to go up the tower. We actually thought we were paying to go to the top to the restaurant, but we ended up at the observation deck. Kinda of a rip-off. Then we went to the restaurant where I had a $15.00 glass of wine. Really a rip-off.

Beth and I decided to go up the tower. We actually thought we were paying to go to the top to the restaurant, but we ended up at the observation deck. Kinda of a rip-off. Then we went to the restaurant where I had a $15.00 glass of wine. Really a rip-off.

So it’s over. I’ve recuperated. The books I shipped home haven’t arrived, yet. When they do, it’ll be fun to see what I got.

4 Comments

Filed under Romantic Times Convention

4 responses to “Sadly, the Romantic Times Conventions is Over

  1. I’m so envious! I wanted to go and it looked like so much fun! Next year I’ll make it to Vegas! Is there a lot for bloggers there?

  2. The RT Booklovers Convention was a lot of fun. The hotel was perfect for hosting the event. Tina – I love you on the bull – great shot!

Leave a Reply

