Interview with new author, Anita Kidesu

perf5.000x8.000.inddToday I have newly published author, Anita Kidesu, on my blog. Her first book, South Seas Seduction was released on Friday, March 13th. I spoke with her several times over the week and heard the excitement in her voice increase until that magic day her ‘baby’ was born.

I met Anita nearly four years ago when I attended my first Romantic Times Convention. I was an ‘aspiring author,’ and Anita came as a reader. It her first convention, too. We met while standing in one of the many lines that are part of the convention. We had the same interest in genres and liked many of the same authors. Because she is from Southern Wisconsin, we also share a love of the Packers, Brewers, and Badgers. The following year I was surprised to see she was attending as an ‘aspiring author,’ not a reader. The convention, where she met many authors, inspired her to follow a hidden dream – writing romance.

Welcome, Anita, and congratulations on your first release. I’m thrilled for you.

Thank you for having me here today. It’s fun and exciting being interviewed so soon after the release of my book.

Tell me a little about yourself: I was born and raised in a small town in Southern Wisconsin. I have a pet hamster named Digger, who buries himself in his shavings when my two cats, Midnight and Charlie come to hassle him. I enjoy reading, watching people, fishing, jogging, playing board games, and going out with my friends.

Who or what inspired you to write? I was raised by my grandparents after my parents were killed in a plane crash when I was six. My grandfather gave me my

What I imagine the pool to look like in the book.

What I imagine the pool to look like in the book.

love of the Packers, building things from wood, and running. My grandmother taught me to love books, fishing, camping, and writing. While she was never published, she was always working on honing her craft. She enjoyed teaching her students how to write well-crafted and edited stories and even had a students become published. Including you? I guess I can say yes to that. After I signed a contract with The Wild Rose Press, I learned a lot about the process of being published, something no one can understand until they’ve gone through all the steps.

What is the title and genre? It’s an erotica called “South Seas Seduction.”

An erotica? What does your grandmother think of that? If she were still with us, she’d be cheering me on. Probably giving me a few tips. My grandma was quite a woman.

Can you tell me about it in three sentences or less? “One woman, three men. A deserted island. What’s a woman to do?”
I read the book already and loved it. Hot, hot, hot.

Why did you start writing erotica? It didn’t start out that way, but as I wrote more and more, the love scenes became hotter and hotter. When I pitched the book, the editor said it sounded like an erotica. So, it just simply happened. It wasn’t something I set out to do.

Where do you like to write? Mostly in my office at home. Or in my recliner with my laptop until my cats try to sit on my lap. I try to write at work. Unless it’s winter, I’ll go out to my car and write on my breaks. In the winter, I’ve sat in the bathroom at work and written. In the summer, I like to go to the park and find a shade tree to sit under. I find a lot of characters and story ideas watching people. I always have a notebook in my car, and I’ve written while being stuck at a train crossing. I believe if a person wants to or has the desire to, he or she will find the time and place to write.

IMG_9759Tell me about your writing space. I live in a small, no make that a tiny, two-bedroom apartment. After my grandmother died, my grandfather gave me her roll-top desk. I guess it’s more like a secretary. It sits in between two windows in the extra bedroom. On the top of the desk is a Joe Bonamassa statue, a basket of chocolate, tea warmer, a bobble-head dog that used to ride in the rear window of Grandma’s fin-tipped caddie. Most of the walls are lined with bookshelves, but since I’ve run out of room for my books, they are piled on the floor throughout the room. They’re even piled in the cats’ beds since they never use them.

Is there anything we wouldn’t find in another writer’s office? Besides Joe and the dog? I have a bottle of some icky-tasting stuff to put on my fingers IMG_9756because when I’m editing or thinking about my next ideas, I bite my nails. I’m trying to break the habit.

Do you write long-hand, use a PC or a laptop? I tend to make notes, and do my character profiles and conflict charts with pen and paper. Otherwise, I write the book solely on my laptop. I like to take it with me to work so I can write during my breaks.

Do you listen to music when you write? I usually listen to classical when I’m writing, otherwise I enjoy blues and blues/rock.

What do your friends think about your writing erotica? Because my full-time job is very public, only my closest friends know my pen name and what I write. When I first started writing romance (it wasn’t erotica then), I told everyone, fellow students, colleagues, boyfriends.

What were their reactions? The women thought it was fun, the men thought of only one thing.

Sex? Yes. I got tired of comments like: “So, how do you research your love scenes?” “If you need any help, let me know.” Wink, wink. Especially now that my writing has morphed into erotica, I keep what I do under wraps. I’m not sure how I’m going to hide my excitement when my book comes out. I know I’m going to want to tell every person I see.

What happens when you get an idea? If I’m lucky, I’m near my computer or a piece of paper. I have a folder with all my ideas in it.
What if you don’t have paper and pen handy? Can you remember your ideas until you get some? Oh my, no. Unless I write it down right away, it’s gone forever. I’ve written notes on napkins. Receipts. Inside book covers, which kills me, but a writer does what she has to do. Once, while out to dinner, I got this great idea and needed to write it down immediately. I grabbed a pen from a waitress and wrote the idea on the arm of my date.
Oh, my. I’ve written down ideas like that, but never on my husband’s arm. What was your date’s reaction? Let’s just say the relationship didn’t last. In hindsight, I probably should have used my own arm.

books-pile-4859921What do you like to read? Do you ready only erotica? What’s on your keeper shelf? I read everything except science fiction and paranormal, although I’ve been drawn into a few books that I didn’t realize were paranormal, but were so well written, they sucked me in. I fell in love with Janet Evanovich, so I have all her books on my keeper shelf. I also like LaVeryle Spencer, Nora Roberts, Christie Craig, Iris Johansen, Tess Gerritson. There are so many I enjoy. I finding more and more with my new publisher, too. Recently I read an very good romantic mystery, “Riding for Love,” by . . . let’s see if I can remember her name . . .Gee, I guess that would be you, wouldn’t it?

I’m blushing. What are you working on now? I recently sent off another erotica called “The Ranch” to my editor at The Wild Rose Press. She has sent it back for revisions before I’m offered a contract. I do know they want a different title. Right now I have no idea what it’ll be. I have a short story to write for them for their Valentine’s Anthology for 2016. I also want to start working on a sequel to “The Ranch” and am thinking about making it a series.

Have you received any rejections? How did you handle them? Like most, or should I say all writers who’ve bitten the bullet and sent out a manuscript to a publisher, I’ve received my share of rejection slips. Of course, now they come in e-mails. The first one hurt. My grandmother used to say that rejection slips build character, makes us better writers. As my writing improved, the rejection letters did, too, until one day, I got an e-mail that said . . . “We loved the first three chapters, please send us the full manuscript.” I was on my lunch break and nearly burst a vein keeping my excitement in. I was ecstatic. My friend came over that night and we celebrated over a few wines. Glasses? No bottles. Sounds like it was fun. It was, but I didn’t get any writing done the next day. Although I’m sure I could have written a convincing hang-over scene.

What did you do on Friday to celebrate? Since I had to work all day, I got up early to check to make sure the book was live on Amazon, B&N, and The Wild Rose Press. I jumped around the living room squealing and crying a little. At work I checked on line as often as I could and posted what I could. I know you posted a lot for me. Thank you. It was rather a let down after work. Since I didn’t want to tell anyone and my closest friend was out of town, I spent the evening alone. Drank a few glasses of wine, burned a pizza in the oven, and ended up eating popcorn and chocolate.

This is like the bobble-head dog my grandmother had in her window of her car.

This is like the bobble-head dog my grandmother had in her window of her car.

Thank you for joining me, Anita. Good luck with “South Seas Seduction” and future books. I’ll be sure to have you back with future releases.

Thank you letting me babble about myself.

Blurb: Sheltered all her life as the daughter of an ambassador, Emma Labonte boards a small plane on a trip from Australia. One hijacking and a plane crash later, she finds herself on a deserted island and stranded with three different yet equally sexy men. With no hope for rescue, the four begin to carve a semblance of a life in their tropical setting. Closeness breeds curiosity, and naive Emma begins to wonder what it would be like to be loved by these three men. The adventurer Jack, Toby the intelligent doctor, and shy English professor Steve–each carve a special place in her heart. When her three men launch seduction in the South Seas, how can she resist?

Buy links for South Seas Seduction:
The Wild Rose Press: http://www.wildrosepublishing.com/wildcatalog_v151/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=200_156&products_id=1039
Amazon:http://tinyurl.com/n6wgqhu
Barnes & Noble: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/c/anita-kidesu

Here are Anita’s Links:
Website: anitakidesu.com
Blog: anitakidesu.blogspot.com
Twitter: @anitakidesu
Facebook: Anita Kidesu, Author
Pinterest: Anita Kidesu, Author
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/search?utf8=%E2%9C%93&query=+anita+kidesu

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized, Writer Interviews with Tina

Leave a Reply

