Local Authors at the Fair

Every year the small city of Bloomer, Wisconsin has a fair. It’s not a county or state fair, but simply a fun, small fair. Rides for all ages, concessions, farm animals, tractor pulls, bands, food, merchant booths, food, cotton candy, popcorn, food. Did I mention food? Food made by churches, youth groups and Lion’s Clubs.

Riding for Love CoverOver the years, I’ve had a booth for my books. Usually I’m there gathering information for another history book. People bring in pictures and stories and I take them right there at the fair. I’ve also sold many history books.

The past few years I haven’t done one because I didn’t have a new book out. With “Riding for Love” coming out in paperback, I thought it was a good idea to participate again. So I signed up for a booth. Then reality hit – or maybe it was my age. I’m going to sit at the booth for three and a half days, by myself, not collecting information, not scanning pictures, but sitting – hoping to sell enough books to cover my costs. COVER

MichelleBookThen one morning I had one of those “aha” moments. Why not invite other local authors to join me? We could split the costs, split the time sitting and having another author with us to kill time. I contacted a few authors I knew and lo and behold – there are six of us bringing our books. Maybe this will be the start of an annual event and we can have other local authors join us. Tessa book cover

bookBetween the six of us we’ll have fifteen different books. I’ll also have some of my photography displayed, including my photo cards. Luther Dunn cover photo

Now I’m excited. Not only will the time I spend sitting at the booth be less, but while there, I’ll have the opportunity to visit with other authors. I’ll be joined by Michelle Rayburn, Deb Waite, Deb Patrow, Melissa Wiltrout and Sharon Balts. Just a few of our books are posted here.

One of my photos.

One of my photos.

Here’s to a fun weekend and lots and lots of sales.

1 Comment

Filed under Book Signings

One response to “Local Authors at the Fair

  1. Sonja Rouillard

    What a great idea!!! Wish I could be there, even without a book out yet. Sonja

Leave a Reply

