Last of Winter – I Hope

Today our temperature here in the northwoods should get to 55 degrees. I went outside this morning to take the last, I hope, pictures of our mounds of snow. I know not all of it will disappear, but I sure hope most of it does. Yesterday I heard and saw the red-winged blackbirds for the first time and cranes were flying over. I heard a robin this morning, but haven’t seen one. Progress.

Last weekend I tried to shovel snow off our decks, but there was a nice layer of ice on top and I couldn’t even make a mark in it. This week, I’ve been able to make a dent in the pile on our front deck. Maybe, just maybe, I’ll finally be able to open the front door today for the first time since – well, I don’t know when.

Snowshoe trip with fourth-graders. Shortly after this was taken there was a ten-kid pile-up. They fell like ten pins.

Snowshoe trip with fourth-graders. Shortly after this was taken there was a ten-kid pile-up. They fell like ten pins.

I have a feeling this snow pile is going to be here for awhile. In the background you can see the neighbor's shed that collapsed under the weight of the snow this winter.

I have a feeling this snow pile is going to be here for awhile. In the background you can see the neighbor’s shed that collapsed under the weight of the snow this winter.

At one time this pile of snow covered the entire deck and went to the bottom of the door window. I've been chipping away at it this week.

At one time this pile of snow covered the entire deck and went to the bottom of the door window. I’ve been chipping away at it this week.

The back deck may take longer, but hopefully we'll be able to get the grill out.

The back deck may take longer, but hopefully we’ll be able to get the grill out.


As the snow is receding, the spring flowers are popping out.

As the snow is receding, the spring flowers are popping out. Brave things.

Leave a comment

Filed under Flowers, Reflection, Uncategorized, Winter

Leave a Reply

