Friend publishes: “Cat Tales: Mews by Gracie”

As I have mentioned several times in my blogs, I have a wonderful group of writer friends. We attend meetings and conferences. We support each other in our ups and downs, not only in our writing, but in our personal lives, too. Most of us have been together since the late 90s, so we’ve seen and been through a lot together.

One of the best things is the excitement from all of us when one of us succeeds. This past year Beth M. James (author of Gitana) and I had our first romances published. Deb Waite had an article printed in Tea Time Magazine. We celebrated this at our recent retreat.

Deb also just published “Cat Tales, Mews by Gracie.” For years Deb’s mother has suffered from SAD, Seasonal Affective Disorder, where people become extremely depressed during the dark, cold, winter months. To cheer her up, Deb wrote letters to her mother from the point of view of Gracie, one of Deb’s cats. Deb has a wonderful sense of humor and it shines through in these letters, which she finally compiled into her book.COVER

The book is illustrated by Cheryl Peick, a talented college junior, majoring in graphic design. Her concepts from mind to pen are uncanny. In one picture, you see a hand petting the top of the cat’s head. The expression on Gracie’s face tells it all. As one member of our group said, “I can actually hear the cat purring.”

Deb is having her first book signing this weekend at a craft fair we will both be attending. I look forward to being part of this exciting day for her.

If you’re interested in purchasing this book (which I highly recommend) please e-mail her at deborahwaite42@yahoo.com. The book is $14.99 + $2.50 s/h
Here is an excerpt from “Cat Tales:”

January – Pushy Kitty

Hi Grandma!
It was so nice of you to come visit me and Maggie. I’m the little black cat – remember? I have short hair and a small heart shaped face. Maggie is light and dark gray surrounding by a sea of white. She has long soft fur with HUGE paws and face.

We didn’t get a chance to talk very much because I’m so shy. Maggie and I were little lost souls and were found and brought to a place called the Shelter. Our human parents, Mom and Dad, are so much fun and we love our new home.

We don’t miss the outside because our house has lots of windows to watch the birds and squirrels just as I had hoped. It actually is easier being inside because I don’t think me or my sister would know what to do with the birds and squirrels if we caught one!

My Mom thinks I’m a pushy little girl because I watch Maggie in the litter box. I do this because she is so messy. She said I must not watch Maggie while she in there because it makes Maggie feel uncomfortable. (Actually, I was chasing her out of box not just watching—shhhh). I now watch from a distance and make sure she is not pushing too much litter out of the box. My Mom says Maggie looks like she is “digging a hole to China”.

Maggie is messy with something else too – – her food. She sticks her left front paw in the food, and scoops it out onto the floor. When she does this in front of Mom, Mom’s forehead looks really wrinkly!

Maggie has been a good sister by listening to some of my tales. She thinks I am a jabberbox with lots of stories to tell.

Maggie likes to lie on her stomach and expose her belly but she doesn’t want anyone to touch it. Isn’t that silly? I like to have my belly rubbed. Mom says my belly is squishy!
Maggie and I get brushed every day. It feels so good! Mom says she gets enough fur from each of us to make another Gracie and Maggie. Does that mean we’ll be twins?

Well, I’ll have to go now since Maggie wants to play. I truly wish she wouldn’t sit on my tail. If you would please make note of our birthdays being on August 15th we would appreciate it. Mom says we might get some fun toys.

Mom said it was okay to write. Mom said that you feel down and blue during the winter. She said you feel sad (and that there is a condition called SAD), and that the lack of light makes you feel that way. Is it dark all day where you live? Maybe we can share some of the ways we keep busy until we can sit in the widow and watch the birds in the summer when there is lots of light during the day!

When Maggie and I are done playing, I will go down to the basement and sleep under the couch.

Love Gracie (and Maggie)

Leave a comment

Filed under Book Signings, Publishing, Reading, Reflection, Uncategorized, Writing

Leave a Reply

