Summer is Over?

A few weeks ago I heard my nine-year-old granddaughter tell her six-year-old sister that when school started, summer was over. I tried explaining to her that summer didn’t actually end until September 21st, but nothing I could say would change her mind. I figured it was a child thing – once school started, summer life as she knew it was finished.

Then I started listening to adults say basically the same thing. “School’s started, summer’s over.” “Labor Day is here, summer is over.” Add to that “Where did the summer go?” “The summer went so fast.” Even the weathermen, who should know better, are already talking about fall weather. Geez, haven’t the last hot, hot days given anyone a clue that summer is not yet over?

Beautiful sunsets from our deck.

Beautiful sunsets from our deck.

People are right about one thing though – summer did go fast. I got to thinking that we hadn’t really done anything and poof – yes, I will say it – summer was over. What the heck did I do all summer? Let’s see:

• Attended a writer’s conference.
• Gave several speeches on writing.
• Watched my grandkids two days a week and took them to T-ball, soccer, swimming, gymnastics, the city pool, my house, piano lessons, library programs, nature center.

Watching butterflies flitting around at a nature center.

Watching butterflies flitting around at a nature center.


• Went to rummage sales to find things for our apartment in the city where we have our business.
• Moved to said “cozy” apartment.
• Made many trips between where we now live and where our business is (80 miles one way).
• Attended H&R Block meetings.
• Enjoyed a visit by my son and his family (wasn’t nearly long enough).
Grandkids waiting for chickens to eat from their hands at my brother's farm.

Grandkids waiting for chickens to eat from their hands at my brother’s farm.


• Have fun for two days on my brother’s farm.
• Went to a Brew and Rib fest and danced the afternoon away.
• Attended a Brewer’s baseball game – first in one in over fifteen years.
Feeding calves at my brother's farm.

Feeding calves at my brother’s farm.


• Visited with friends in Madison and Milwaukee.
• Bought a new camper.
• Went camping with family (still have two more times this “fall”).
• Re-united with a cousin and her husband.
• Went kayaking for the first time with my cousin.
Loons I saw while kayaking.

Loons I saw while kayaking.


• Spent two weekends with my cousin.
• Took the grandkids on a train ride – rode in a car that is over 100 years old.
On 100-year-old car on train.

On 100-year-old car on train.


• Attended a fly-in with the grandchildren. IMG_8068
• Finished a children’s book.
• Met with an illustrator on my up-coming children’s book.
• Wrote a short story for a Christmas anthology for my publisher.
• Edited a book.
• Went on many bike rides.
• Met with my writers’ group.
• Spent time on a friend’s pontoon on their lake.
• Went fishing.
• Danced with my grandkids to an old-time jukebox.
Dancing with my grandkids.

Dancing with my grandkids.


• Watched many beautiful sunsets from our deck.

Fishing. Unfortunately we got skunked.

Fishing. Unfortunately we got skunked.

Helping grandson play an old player piano.

Helping grandson play an old player piano.

Hiking while camping.

Hiking while camping.

Before checking my appointment book, I would have said I hadn’t done much this summer. But looking back – no wonder I’m tired. No wonder it’s been a month since I blogged. So, here’s to another great summer and what’s to come in the remaining two weeks.

2 Comments

Filed under Nature, Reflection, Speeches, Uncategorized, Writer's Conventions/Conferences

2 responses to “Summer is Over?

  1. Sounds like you had a great summer, Tina. And looks like it also. Good for you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

