Another Writer’s Conference

I just returned from the Wisconsin Romance Writer’s Conference in Oconomowoc this weekend. I went with a group of my favorite people – my writer friends. Since I’m on the board of directors and had a meeting at two, I left early Friday morning with three ladies in my van. The other three rode in another van. The trip was uneventful except for a lot of gabbing.
After arriving and checking in, I had to go to my meeting and missed the group putting together baskets for the literacy raffle. Last year we ran the raffle, this year we donated twelve of them from our little group of seven women. I was able
join them in the bar after my meeting.

Relaxing with good friends before evening events.

Relaxing with good friends before evening events.

DiAnn Mills, a NYT Best Selling Author, was our speaker after supper, talking about The Power of Emotive Conflict. I was able to spend some time with this gracious, intelligent woman during the conference as she sat and ate breakfast with us both mornings. I also attended her Backstory Workshop.

After a late first night and breakfast Saturday morning, the highlight of the conference was speaker Michael Hauge. Michael is a story consultant, author and lecturer who works with screenwriters, novelists, filmmakers in Hollywood and around the world.
What an incredible two and half hours. I know his Six Stage Plot Structure will make me a better writer. This was just part one of two parts of his lecture. The second was Sunday morning for another 3 ½ hours. Usually when I sit at workshops like this and am bombarded with information, I go home with my brain swimming with stuff I probably won’t use. Michaels’ approach was straightforward, down to earth, made sense and is extremely usable. For the first time in attending conferences and workshops, I typed up my notes after returning home. I didn’t want to forget anything.

Beth James and I with the roses we received for our first book sale.

Beth James and I with the roses we received for our first book sale.

There were other workshops, a book sale for literacy (besides the raffle), a book signing, hospitality time, awards luncheon (where I received a rose for my first sale) and, of course, the time I spent with my good friends. It was fun catching up with other authors that I only get to see once a year. The days were long, both Friday and Saturday going from early morning until late at night, but it was worth the exhaustion.

I look forward to next year’s conference where, hopefully, I will have a few more published books under my belt.

With Jean Staral.

With Jean Staral.

2 Comments

Filed under Publishing, Romance, Writer's Conventions/Conferences, Writing

2 responses to “Another Writer’s Conference

  1. I’m so happy you took so much from this conference. I did, too! Hopefully, I’ll see you before next year’s conference for some writing talk!

  2. You’re right, Tina. This conference was fantastic with the content and speakers. Michael Hauge was so very helpful with his story telling concept and Diann Mills with her Emotive Conflict put me into a whole new way of conceptualizing my writing. So worth the time and hassle to be there.

Leave a Reply

