Review of Somewhere in Time

I had two movies in mind to preview for my first blogs. Since both filmed a while ago, I had trouble locating them. Finally a friend, who happens to be a librarian, suggested I try the library system. Success. The first one, “Somewhere in Time,” arrived before the weekend. The other one, “Somersby,” has yet to show up.

Within the first few minutes of “Somewhere in Time,” I realized I’d already watched it. Filmed in 1978, the movie is derived from the book, “Bid Time Return” by Richard Matheson. He also wrote the screenplay. I haven’t read the book, so can only guess at how close the movie remains true to the written word, but since both were done by the same author, one would think it would be close. I’m tempted to find the book and read it.

It was easy to be drawn into the movie, which starts with a party, where an elderly woman approaches a young man, places a pocketwatch in his hand and says “Come back to me.” Sucked me in. As the movie progresses, Richard Collier (played by Christopher Reeve) finds himself at the Grand Hotel (Mackinac Island) where he sees a picture of an actress (played by Jane Seymour). He is so drawn to her, he does research and learns she is the woman who gave him the watch. He is compelled to go back to 1912 to find her. Through Reeves acting, you feel his pain and desire to meet her.

Both Seymour and Reeve, along with Christopher Plummer, give exquisite portrayals of the main characters, allowing the viewer to buy into time travel and true love. I don’t want to give away the ending. The scenery and clothing were excellent. The costume designer was nominated for an Oscar.

After the movie was over, I did something I don’t usually do I played the Bonus Materials watching Feature Commentary. Done in 2000 when Reeve was still alive, the section talked about the filming of the movie with comments from Matheson, Reeve, Seymour, director Jeannot Szwarc. Production crew and actors playing minor roles also participated. Especially interesting were explanations on how certain scenes were created.

All-in-all, I would recommend this movie – even if the ending, if written in a romance novel, would not qualify it as a romance.

Leave a comment

Filed under Romance

Leave a Reply

