Just Another New Year’s Resolution Blog

I’ve lost count of the number of blogs I’ve read so far concerning New Year’s Resolutions. Many have been hilarious (intentionally, I hope), some way too serious, and some I wonder if the person writing the blog will make it through the next week without saying “the heck with it.”

Last week the gym where I swim was full with people starting out the new year on a good note. I wonder how long before the number working out trickles down to those few who’ve been consistent in staying in shape. There were some new faces in the pool, which is pretty good for 6:00 in the morning. Will they last? Hope so.

So, I pondered what I would say when asked if I made any resolutions. Last year, I decided 2012 would be the year I would work on getting published. I’m happy to say it was the first time I ever succeeded in accomplishing a resolution. I guess I can’t say “This year I’m going to see my book in print.” That would be cheating since I already know it will happen. I can’t resolve to get my edits done because I don’t have a choice if I want to see that book in print. I can hope to get on the NYT best-seller list – but that is wishful thinking, not a resolution.

As all authors, I love to read. A few years back I decided (not a New Year’s resolution) to collect all of Nora Roberts’ books. I had no idea what I was getting myself in for. She is one prolific author, and I have a lot of her books, but fell way short of my goal.

Last week when I was cleaning out 2012 files in preparation for a fresh year, I walked past by the shelves of Roberts’ books. I hadn’t read any in quite some time, and an idea popped into my head. Why don’t I read all of those books for 2013? Hey, if you’re going to set a goal for yourself, it might as well be an enjoyable one. So I sorted through and matched them up with what I have in my Excel program. (A good way to make sure I don’t buy a book I already have or read. To date I have 3,000 books in the program. I highlight a book when I’ve read it before donating it to our local library for their annual book sale.)

Then I counted how many of her books are on the shelf. This was deceiving since many of them contain two or three of her books. So I counted them in Excel. One hundred and fifty-seven! I told my husband there was no way I was going to meet my goal. I’d already failed in my resolution and it was only January 1st. I also had to finish a rather long book I’d started before the end of the year before I started on my new goal.

But wait. Today I realized I didn’t subtract the ones I already read in the past. Fifty three. So that leaves one hundred and seven books to read this year. That means I need to read 2.05769230769 Nora Roberts’ books a week. When we go on vacation, I can read as many as five or six books. This leaves room to slip in another author or two.

I love this resolution. I can do it and have fun. No counting steps or calories or carbs. NO GUILT!!!! So this morning I finished book number 2. Okay, so I cheated. The first two I’ve read were her earlier ones and only 250 pages each. Also I woke up this morning at 3:00, couldn’t get back to sleep and sat in the living room on a cozy chair, wrapped in blankets reading until 7:00 – book number two done in one night. One hundred and five to go. The question is, when I’m done, do I start collecting again? Can’t leave those shelves empty.

Wish me luck.

Leave a comment

Filed under Goals, Reading, Reflection, Writing

Leave a Reply

