My Writing is on the Fast Tract continued…

Here’s the rest of the story.

I worked feverishly on edits and re-edits on the Pro book so I could send it off. My goal was to get it to the editor before my husband and I left for vacation the first week of September. The evening before we left, I composed an e-mail to Debby at Soul Mate Publishing, did some cross signs, finger wiggles and kisses at the screen and sent off the manuscript. I ran upstairs all giddy that I’d made my goal, and nervous that, wow, I just sent a requested manuscript off. We sat on the deck drinking wine and watching the sun set. A sense of peace flowed through me – it was out of my hands, and I had a week off before I moved to the next book for editing.

My husband brought his I-pad along with us on our camping trip so we could keep up with family, news, etc. The second morning, we sat in the camper eating breakfast. (It was too darn cold to eat outside!) I opened my e-mails. Wow, an email from Debby already. I opened the message – I forgot to attach the manuscript!!!!!!!! Talk about feeling dumb. She made me feel somewhat better by saying everyone does that at least once. So now I couldn’t re-send the manuscript until we returned home in six days’ time.

The first thing I did when we came home was hit the bathroom. The second – run downstairs, gear up the computer and make darn sure I attached the manuscript this time. An e-mail from Debby the next morning said I had. So then it was on to working on editing the conference book.

Each year I go camping for one week by myself. My husband graciously (depending on how easily he can back the camper into the campsite.) hauls the camper to a campground, sets it up and goes home. I love this week. I can write to my heart’s content, eat when and what I want and write as late as I want. I’ve finished history books and fiction books. This year my goal was to finish the paper edits of the conference book, start putting the edits into the computer and work on the outline for the next book. I can happily say I accomplished all those goals. But, I nearly didn’t because I lost most of a day.

Once again I had the I-pad along so I can – well, you know. Tuesday morning I was eating breakfast in the camper (once again too cold to eat outside). There was an e-mail from Debby at Soul Mate Publishing. With nervous fingers I opened it up. Here’s what it said: “Dear Tina, Thank you for your patience (she’d only had the book two weeks, so this line surprised me.) I had a chance to read Riding for Love this weekend and have great news! (At this point my heart stopped and my spoon dropped to my bowl). I enjoyed your story so much, we’d like to publish your book. (My breath stopped and I jumped up from the table and squealed. I sat back down and continued.) Riding for Love is well written and engaging.”

OMG, OMG, OMG!!!!! There were four more paragraphs in the letter, but I didn’t read them until later, when I’d finally stopped sobbing, pacing and calling everyone I could think of.  I scared my poor husband to death when I called him at work. I was crying so hard, he thought something bad had happened to me or someone had died. I made a few more calls and paced the camper when I realized I needed more space to pace. I went outside, found some warm sun and paced and called and paced and called. By noon I had put nearly 6,000 steps on my pedometer just pacing.  ( I just did a giggle dance – again.)

Everyone I talked to wanted to know about the contract, when the book was coming out, etc. All I could say at that point was “I haven’t even read the rest of the e-mail or the contract. A writer friend suggested I not read the contract for three days because I wouldn’t remember what I read. She was right. When I finally read the contract – and re-read – and re-read, I still couldn’t comprehend this was actually happening.

I’ve been dying to write about this, but wanted to wait until the contract was signed. Last Wednesday that was accomplished. So now I wait for an editor to be assigned for – guess what – more edits. Today I received my Author Cover Art Information Form to fill out. I also need to give them information such as my bio, back cover blurb, 1-2 sentence hook for Facebook, dedication page and acknowledgement page information. Every time I calm down I receive something from the publishing company and I get excited all over again.  This is really real.

So come Spring of 2013, Riding for Love will be on Amazon, Barnes & Noble, Soul Mate Publishing and other places. It will be an e-book first and then hopefully paperback.

I have finished the edits on the conference book and need to tweek a few more things before I send it off  next week. I am hoping in a few months’ times I will be writing about another book sale.

After years and years of working on my fiction in-between publishing the non-fiction…well, I’m still too excited to express how I feel – except excited.

 

2 Comments

Filed under Goals, Publishing, Writing

2 responses to “My Writing is on the Fast Tract continued…

  1. Veda Reed

    hi Tina,
    Loved reading your blog and I am so happy for you. I can see you pacing around and getting all giddy. When it come out I wil recommend it to my book club. Pleae keep me advised when it is available OK?
    A Fan
    Veda

  2. Linda

    :::happy dance:::

    :::happy dance:::

    :::happy dance:::

    :::happy dance:::

    Yeah, it’s like that! We knew you could do it!!!!

Leave a Reply

