Romantic Times Convention

Another new experience – the Romantic Times Convention.  Every year Romantic Times magazine hosts a convention in various cities.  This year it is in Chicago.  Two other women from my writer’s group are here.  What is different about this conference is that it is for romance readers as well as writers.  I’m not sure how many authors/writers/publishers/agents/librarians/book sellers are here, but it is said that over 1,000 readers will descend on the Hyatt O’Hare on Saturday to meet nearly 400 authors selling their books. 

There are also many, many workshops for authors/writers.  Before leaving, I read over the descriptions and told Al I needed to clone myself as there are at least two workshops in every time slot that I’m interested in attending.  We’ve only been here about four hours and already I feel overwhelmed by everything – including the prices.   $8.50 for a small glass of wine, $3.50 for a bottle of water.  We each bought a bottle and will refill it for the next five days.  There are at least five other conventions going on in the hotel.  I can’t even imagine what breakfast will be like. 

So far we haven’t lost our way, but Beth and I had to call to get our safe working.  How many people does it take to change batteries in a safe?  That would be three.  How many people does it take to figure out the safe wouldn’t lock because laptops were placed incorrectly?  That would be five.  We did get a coupon for two free deserts for our troubles.  Troubles?  Heck, we thought it was our fault. 

Tomorrow starts the workshops, editor/agents meetings and parties.  There are so many parties sponsored by publishers, agents and authors, it’s hard to know where to start.  But the co-ordinators are smart – no party runs at the same time as another.  Workshops can, but not parties.  Guess they have their priorities set straight.  Some of the parties are costume themes and, while I didn’t bring a costume, I plan to attend and enjoy the views. 

So, time to hit the hay and store up some energy.  I think I’m going to need it.

Leave a comment

Filed under Writer's Conventions/Conferences

Leave a Reply

