Book Signing update

Well, as I said yesterday, selling just one book is one less I have to take home.  Luckily I sold more than that (3) and had four people come in to sign books they already purchased.  This is just as much fun when they tell me how much they are enjoying the book and what a good job they thought I did.  I always get a little nervous that someone is going to slam me for something I did or didn’t do.

One very exciting thing (for me anyway) was when one woman came in to have me sign her son’s book and told me she found someone in the book she thinks is a relative.  The man served in the Civil War and, according to what I wrote, was from the same town as other of her relatives.  The woman said his picture looked just like her grandfather.  I pulled out the City of Bloomer book because the name was familiar and thought he had run a business in town at one time.  I found his obituary in  the book.  The woman was shocked to find out his wife had the same first name as another relative.  It was such a thrill for me to see her excitement.  She checked out the city book and was going to contact the family historian.  It’s one of the many reasons I write these history books – to help people locate family members.

Another gentleman was happy because, in his military information, I included articles I found in the paper.  It was information about his ship he had completely forgotten.  All-in-all it was a fun night.

Leave a comment

Filed under Book Signings

Leave a Reply

